WILLIAM J. KELLY TO VOTER: SMITHBURG JUST A DECEITFUL YOUNG MAN WITH TOO MUCH FAMILY MONEY

Read below an email thread from one 42nd ward voter who wasn’t deceived by Tommy Smithburg but was smart enough to ask questions and not let gossip and half-truths sway her:

From: Linda
To: William Kelly
Subject: Re: question about Smithburg’s mailer please

Thank you! I wholeheartedly agree with you; my biggest complaint is of establishment Republicans against Conservatives. ACORN & Establishment Republicans are the Constitution’s and Conservatives’ biggest problems. Thank you for addressing my questions fully and allaying my concerns completely; I am still voting for you.

Feel free to put my earlier query and your response on your website – as others might have similar questions after reading Smithburg’s mailer, but not take the time to contact you.

From: William Kelly
To: Linda
Sent: Thursday, March 8, 2012 10:57 PM
Subject: Re: question about Smithburg’s mailer please

Dear Linda,

Here’s a slightly longer response. Thank you very much for emailing me about this.

After twenty years of being a conservative activist, I have found that too many “conservatives” spend time gossiping and attacking each other instead of winning. The fact that you have contacted me – means that you are different and I really appreciate that.

First, Tommy Smithburg is 23 years old and has no record as a conservative or as a Republican. There is no reason to give a lie-filled mailer – or him – any credibility. He is just a very immature, very spoiled young man with too much family money. That is why he thought he could lie about my record as a Republican. But, not to worry, he will not succeed in this.

Whatever he quoted about me not being serious – is again another lie on his part. I write conservative commentary, news, and social satire for the Washington Times, Breitbart.com, and the American Spectator. So, again, Tommy Smithburg is just trying to deceive good people by twisting my work in conservative social media and print.

In terms of “another very solid conservative” that said I am just in this for “notoriety,” I have to tell you I have some issues with that as well. It is kind of silly to suggest that running to be a Republican committeeman in Chicago would give anyone “notoriety.” Again, unfortunately, the person who told you that either is repeating gossip or has some interest in one campaign succeeding over another.

I don’t know why we conservatives have such a hard time working together. But that is why I am running and trying to change that. That is why Dick Morris has endorsed me in this race and is coming to Chicago on Saturday to support me. He understands what Illinois Conservatives do to each other and he is trying to stand up with me so that we have a chance to succeed. You are very welcomed to come to our event.

My record as a conservative activist – for more than 20 years – speaks for itself. If you haven’t seen this video, it covers just some of my history. It’s called “A Conservative in Chicago.”

I learned long ago that conservative issues are not covered by Chicago media and believe that it takes something extra to get our issues the attention they deserve. To do this, I have often put myself at risk. There will always be people who object to bold tactics – but I object to the liberal media continuing to ignore our issues.

I hope that makes sense and I hope that you will spread the good word about our campaign.

Please contact me if you have any further questions.

Best,
William J. Kelly
Candidate
42nd Republican committeeman

On Thu, Mar 8, 2012 at 5:27 PM, Linda > wrote:

Hi William –

Please refute the various points on your website that Smithburg’s put in his flyer, such as that you ‘proudly admit that your intentions (as GOP committeeman of the 42nd ward) are not serious.
I’ve been planning on voting for you, and put that on my FB too, but am a bit thrown by Smithburg’s mailer and that he took this from your website.

I see on your website you refuted his statement about your voting as a Dem, and instead turned it around by showing how his family supported Rahm. Well done. But another, very solid conservative told me you really are just in this for notoriety. I find that hard to believe, and I prefer your platform too over Smithburg’s or useless Eloise, but I’d like to actually read something on your webpage on this issue – or if you just want to email me too, that’d be great.

Thanks and good luck,
Linda A.
Tea Party member and conservative

Leave a Reply

