Kelly releases affidavit, alleges patronage threats in “rigged” Cook County GOP endorsement of Bruce Rauner

Chicago, Illinois, January 8, 2014 – Conservative activist William J. Kelly has released a sworn affidavit regarding the Cook County GOP endorsement of GOP candidate for governor, Bruce Rauner – the first-ever pre-primary endorsement of a statewide candidate in a GOP contested primary in Illinois. See attached affidavit.

In his sworn affidavit, Kelly attests to the following:

1.     Weeks before the Cook County GOP’s vote on its endorsements, I was told by Palos GOP committeeman Sean Morrison that Bruce Rauner, a GOP candidate for governor, already had the Cook County GOP’s endorsement.

2.      Disgusted by what I perceived to be the “rigged political game” I started commenting on social media and made a comment on the Capitol Fax blog about my conversation with Mr. Morrison on Friday, December 20, 2013.

3.      The comment I posted was: “Sean Morrison, Republican committeeman in Palos, told me, before any meetings or voting, online or other, that Rauner would get the Cook County Republican endorsement. So I guess it is just another paid ad for Rauner.”The comment was posted at 9:52 AM.

4.      On December 20, 2013, I began receiving numerous calls and text messages from Mr. Morrison, Cook County Commissioner Liz Gorman, and her husband, Gerry Gorman, a former consultant for Judy Baar Topinka.

5.      On December 20, 2013, I received a number of calls from Gerry Gorman.  I decided to accept one of the calls, which lasted about 21 minutes. “

6.      During the phone call, Mr. Gorman said, “Liz and Sean are very, very, very tight with Bruce Rauner. Bruce Rauner is going to win this election for governor and when he does Liz and Sean are going to be dividing up the jobs and the contracts. Now you can be on the inside of that or you can be on the outside of that.  Do you want me to set up a meeting with you with Bruce Rauner so you can arrange a deal? I think you will discover he’s not who you think he is. I know that you have a problem with Bruce Rauner because he is close friends with Rahm Emanuel.”

7.      I told Mr. Gorman that Rauner’s close relationship with Rahm Emanuel was “a deal breaker for me and that I wasn’t interested in meeting with Bruce Rauner.”

8.      I have continued to receive threats via phone and text from Bruce Rauner’s supporters.

“As Republicans, we say we want an end to the pay-to-play schemes that have bankrupted Illinois. We say we stand for justice, ethics, and a level playing field. But what I have experienced in the rigged endorsement of Bruce Rauner by members of the Cook County GOP is the worst example of the corrupt insider deals and ugly political and financial threats the Republicans say they are against. Promising government jobs and contracts in exchange for political support is a criminal matter. That’s why today I am calling for an investigation into the Cook County GOP’s endorsement of Bruce Rauner and will be submitting my affidavit to appropriate authorities.”

###

Leave a Reply

